December 1, 2021

International Air Transport Association Netherlands Data Publications Timatic Editing Team

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan

# Important Notice on Entry Ban and Visa Restrictions for Strengthening Border Security Measures to prevent the spread of Novel Coronavirus

On 1<sup>st</sup> December 2021, taking the spread of the Omicron variant of Covid-19 into consideration, the Government of Japan decided to further strengthen the border security measures against Novel Coronavirus infections by introducing additional measures as follows;

The validity of <u>all categories of visas, except "(D) As Diplomat" and visas under</u> <u>categories such as "(S) As Spouse, Child of Japanese" and "(S) As Spouse of</u> <u>Permanent Resident"</u>, which have been issued by Japanese overseas establishments in all countries/regions by 1<sup>st</sup> December 2021, <u>will be temporarily</u> <u>suspended</u>.

It is also decided that the re-entry into Japan of foreign nationals with status of residence who have stayed in <u>Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi,</u> <u>Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia or Zimbabwe</u> within 14 days prior to the application for landing will be denied for the time being, unless they are acknowledged to have special exceptional circumstances.

\*Note that foreign nationals with the status of residence of "Permanent Resident", "Spouse or Child of a Japanese National", "Spouse or Child of a Permanent Resident" or "Long Term Resident", who have stayed in above-mentioned countries and departed from those countries by 1<sup>st</sup> December, 2021, are treated as persons in special exceptional circumstances, therefore, allowed their entry into Japan.

The foregoing measures will be implemented from 0:00am (JST) on 2 December, 2021 until the end of December 2021.

\*Note that passengers who depart before 0:00 am (JST) on 2<sup>nd</sup> December, 2021 and arrive in Japan after that time are not subject to the entry ban.

Please note that regardless of the abovementioned measures, <u>foreign nationals</u> <u>who are acknowledged to have special exceptional circumstances by Japanese</u> <u>authorities may still enter Japan</u>. <u>Those foreign nationals are supposed to hold a</u> <u>visa under the abovementioned categories "(D) As Diplomat"</u>, "(S) As Spouse, Child of Japanese" and "(S) As Spouse of Permanent Resident"), <u>or a visa issued</u> <u>by Japanese overseas establishments on and after 2<sup>nd</sup> December, 2021</u>. There are also some exceptional cases that foreign nationals possess a suspended visa, but at the same time, possess a "Letter of Embassy/Consulate General/Consular Office of Japan" issued by Japanese overseas establishments on are stablishments, in this case, please allow them to board a plane. Please refer to a sample of the said Letter as attached.</u>

Note that "Special Permanent Resident" is not necessarily in the scope of the entry ban.

As of 1<sup>st</sup> December, 2021, the list of designation of areas subject to the entry ban is as follows;

[Countries/regions subject to the entry ban]

Asia:

Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste

## Oceania:

Fiji

#### North America:

Canada, United States of America

#### Latin America and the Caribbean:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela

#### Europe:

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Vatican

### Middle East:

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

### Africa:

Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central Africa, Comoros, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tunisia, Zambia, Zimbabwe

We would deeply appreciate it if your team could notify all related airlines that they should inform all concerned passengers of those measures in order for them to avoid arriving in Japan without proper documents.

[End]