March 6, 2020

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan

Important Notice on Visa Restrictions for Strengthening Border Security Measures related to the spread Novel Coronavirus

On 6 March 2020, the Government of Japan decided to drastically strengthen the border security measures against the spread of Novel Coronavirus infections as follows;

- <u>The validity of single entry visa and multiple entry visa</u>, including diplomatic and official visa of Japan, which have been issued by Embassies, Consulates-General and Consulate of Japan in the People's Republic of China, including Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, and the Republic of Korea by March 8, 2020, <u>will be temporarily suspended</u>.
- <u>The application of visa exemption arrangements</u> for Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (both SAR and BNO passport holders), Macau Special Administrative Region of PRC and the Republic of Korea, <u>will be temporarily</u> <u>suspended</u>.
- The foregoing measures of 1 and 2 will enter into force on March 9, 2020.
 0:00am (JST) by March 31, 2020.

[End]

IMPORTANT NOTICE ON NEW RESTRICTIONS RELATED TO NOVEL CORONAVIRUS

- Since the Government of Japan designated Novel Coronavirus(AKA COVID-19) as "Designated Infectious Disease" under the Infectious Diseases Act of Japan, foreign nationals who are deemed as patients of Novel Coronavirus shall be denied permission to land in Japan pursuant to Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act of Japan. As the Government of Japan also designated Novel Coronavirus as "Quarantinable Infectious Diseases" under Quarantine Act of Japan, foreign nationals who are suspected of being afflicted with Novel Coronavirus would be ordered to be quarantined with no exception for valid visa holders.
- 2 The Government of Japan also decided on 7 Mar.2020 that for the time being, those who fall under the three categories below are not permitted to land in Japan unless there are exceptional circumstances.
 - Foreign nationals who have travelled to Hubei/Zhejiang Province in People's Republic of China, or Daegu/Gyeongsangbuk-do (Cheongdogun/Gyeongsan-si/Andong-si/Yeongcheon-si/Chilgok-gun/Uiseonggun/Seongju-gun/Gunwi-gun) in Korea, or Qom/Teheran/Gilan Provinse in Islamic Republic of Iran within 14 days before arriving in Japan.
 - Foreign nationals who hold a passport issued by the Hubei/Zhejiang Province Authority.
 - Foreign Nationals aboard a passenger ship which sails for the purpose of entering Japanese port and carries a risk of being afflicted by an outbreak of Novel Coronavirus infectious disease.
- Based on the "Principle Criteria of Visa Issuance", visa applications of those who fall under the categories being not permitted to land in Japan are not accepted. Visa applicants are required to fill in and submit questionnaires (attached) on whether or not they have (or will have) travelled to Hubei/Zhejiang Province in People's Republic of China, or Daegu/Gyeongsangbuk-do (Cheongdo-gun/Gyeongsansi/Andong-si/Yeongcheon-si/Chilgok-gun/Uiseong-gun/Seongjugun/Gunwi-gun) in Korea, or Qom/Teheran/Gilan Provinse in Islamic Republic of Iran within 14 days before arriving in Japan.
- 4 Please note that even those foreign nationals who were already issued valid visa of Japan would not be permitted to land in Japan if they fall

under the categories mentioned in 1 and 2 above.

- 5 Any false declaration in the questionnaires will be subject to refusal of visa issuance, and then new visa application will not be accepted for six months for the same purpose of visit. The visa will be made null and void when such false declaration is revealed after the visa issued.
- 6 Any false declaration upon landing in Japan may be subject to punitive measures including imprisonment, imposition of fine, revoking of residential status as well as deportation from Japan.

New measures to drastically strengthen border measures

1. Continual review of areas subject to the entry ban

Enabling entry ban measures to be applied comprehensively to the Republic of Korea (hereinafter referred to as "ROK") and the Islamic Republic of Iran (hereinafter referred to as "Iran"), and designating additional areas listed below* of these countries as areas subject to the entry ban.

*RoK: Gyeongsangbuk-do (7 cities and counties: Gyeongsan, Andong, Yeongcheon, Chilgok, Uiseong, Seongju, and Gunwi) *Iran: Qom Province, Tehran Province, and Gilan Province

2. Strengthened quarantine

Calling upon people arriving from China (including Hong Kong and Macau, the same applies hereinafter) and the ROK to wait 14 days at a location designated by the quarantine station chief and to refrain from using public transportation.

- 3. Restriction on airports/ports for arrival from China or the ROK
- (1) Aircraft: restricting arrival airports for passenger flights from China or the ROK to Narita International Airport and Kansai International Airport only (requesting the airlines concerned to conform this restriction)
- (2) Ship: suspending passenger transportation departing from China or the ROK (requesting related companies to conform this suspension)

4. Visa restrictions

- (1) Suspending validity of single or multiple-entry visa issued by Japanese Embassies or Consulates General in China or the ROK
- (2) Suspending visa exemption measures for Hong Kong and Macau, and the ROK.
- 5. Enhanced international cooperation on border measures including among Japan, China and the ROK.

*The measures described in paragraph 1 above will be implemented from 0:00 am on March 7 and remain in place for a period. However, they will not apply to those who have departed those places before their implementation and arrived in Japan after their implementation.

**The measures described in paragraph 2 to 4 above will be implemented from 0:00 am on March 9 until the last day of the month. The period can be renewed.

QUESTIONNAIRES

NAME:

 \Box MALE \Box FEMALE

DATE OF BIRTH:

NATIONALITY:

PASSPORT NUMBER:

Please answer the following questions by checking the applicable boxes.

Q1: Have you travelled to any of the regions listed below within 14days before arrival day in Japan?

 \Box Yes \Box No

Q2: After receiving visa, do you have any plan to stay in any of the regions listed below within 14 days before your arrival day in Japan?

 \Box Yes \Box No

People's Republic of China	Hubei Province/ Zhejiang Province
Republic of Korea	Daegu/ Gyeongsangbuk-do (Cheongdo-gun/ Gyeongsan-si/ Andong-si/ Yeongcheon-si/ Chilgok-gun/ Uiseong-gun/ Seongju-gun/ Gunwi-gun)
Islamic Republic of Iran	Qom Province/ Teheran Province/ Gilan Province

DATE:

SIGNATURE:

- Any false declaration above will be subject to refusal of visa issuance, and then new visa application will not be accepted for six months for the same purpose of visit. The visa will be made null and void when such false declaration is revealed after the visa issued.
- Any false declaration upon landing in Japan may be subject to punitive measures including imprisonment(less than three years), imposition of fine(less than three million yen), revoking of residential status as well as deportation from Japan.